Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Earl of Wessex Future Energy Conference 2021

15 November 2021 @ 9:00 am - 7:30 pm

The conference addresses the most important issues influencing our journey to a sustainable future, and immediately follows the conclusion of COP26. It once again focuses on the theme of “Future Energy”.

We have an excellent set of very senior, knowledgeable speakers addressing the most important issues influencing our journey to a sustainable future; including the achievements and failures of the last two years, personal feedback from COP26, a look at what incentives are required in order to achieve Net Zero, in depth reviews of energy storage, some new energy technologies on the horizon, and finally, a senior economist’s view of the energy future. In the middle of all of this, and reflecting our commitment to education, we have the final of our competition offering prizes to young energy professionals and academics for the best new energy ideas. As a reward for all of this intellectual effort, the delegates will further explore these topics in the evening while winding down at a champagne reception.


09:00 – Arrival, registration, coffee, networking and exhibition

09:30 – Welcome by HRH The Earl of Wessex

09:40 – Keynote: Future of Energy: What has changed since 2019? Are we doing what is necessary? Juliet Davenport – Founder and CEO Good Energy

10:00 – COP26 in retrospect: Baroness Brown Deputy Chair – Committee on Climate Change

10:20 – PANEL SESSION 1: Incentives for transition

Chair: Basil Scarsella – CEO UK Power Networks
Louis Redshaw – CEO Redshaw Advisors
Tom Delay – CEO Carbon Trust
Richard Nourse – Founder Greencoat Capital
Philip New – CEO Energy Systems Catapult
11:05 – Coffee, networking and exhibition
11:35 – Introduction to the competition
11:40 – Five minute presentations by competition finalists, Q&A

Chair of judges: Dame Mary Archer
Professor John Loughhead
Jon Clark – EY
Professor Martin Freer
Richard Nourse
12:30 – Networking lunch and exhibition
13:30 – Results of competition and presentation of prizes

13:45 – PANEL SESSION 2: Energy storage – technologies and economics. Q&A.

Chair: Pam Thomas – CEO Faraday Institution
John Feddersen – CEO Aurora Energy Research
Clare Grey – Geoffrey Moorhouse Gibson Professor Cambridge
Matthew Rowe – Head of Department Storage DNV GL
John Egan – North West Regional Lead Progressive Energy
14:55 – Coffee and networking

15:15 – PANEL SESSION 3: Technologies on the horizon: Niche or significant contributors? Q&A

Chair: Neville Chamberlain
Dr Angelo Amorelli – SVP Applied Science BP
Glen Burridge – CEO European Federation of Geologists
Professor John Loughhead
Professor Ian Chapman – CEO UKAEA
Rolls-Royce – (Confirmed speaker to be identified)
16:30 – Economic Outlook for Energy: Spencer Dale – Group Chief Economist BP
17:15 – Summary and call to action

17:30 – Drinks reception

19:30 – Close


The Worshipful Company of Fuellers
View Organiser Website


The Royal College of Physicians
11 St Andrews Place
London, NW1 4LE
+ Google Map
View Venue Website

Check on the organiser’s website that dates and times are correct.